Share and edit a presentation with others

Share and edit a presentation with others

If you save your presentation to iCloud, you can collaborate with others by sharing a link to your presentation on supported browser on a Mac or Windows computer.

Note: To share a presentation in iCloud, you need to upgrade your iCloud account to use iCloud Drive. Make sure your Mac is set up to use iCloud and hasOS X Yosemite and the latest version of Keynote installed.

Share a presentation with collaborators

If a presentation is saved to iCloud, you can share a link to it using Mail, Messages, and AirDrop. You can also share the link using Twitter, Facebook, and other services. To share using one of these services, you must first set up that account on your Mac. Go to System Preferences, then click Internet Accounts. You can also copy and paste the link into the service of your choice.

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar.

  2. Click View Share Settings, then do any of the following:

    • Set permissions: If you want recipients of the link to be able to edit the presentation, click the Permissions pop-up menu, then choose Allow Editing. If you want recipients to be able to read, but not edit, the presentation, choose View Only.

    • Set a password: To require recipients of the link to enter a password to open the presentation, click Add Password. Enter the requested password information, then click Set Password. For added security, don’t send the password in the same communication as the presentation link.

      Note: If the presentation already has a password, you see a Change Password button. The existing password applies to the presentation when you share it; you don’t need to change it unless you want to.

  3. Click Share Presentation.

    If you haven’t already moved your presentation to iCloud, you can do so in the dialog that appears.

  4. Click Send Link, then choose how you want to send it.

    For more options, click More at the bottom of the menu, then select the checkbox next to an extension to add it to the menu.

  5. Enter the requested information, then send or post the message.

    The full link appears in the body of the email, tweet, or post—be sure not to delete it or modify it.

Any further edits you make to the presentation after you share it are visible to the recipients of the link.

You can also copy the link to your presentation and then share the link by pasting it in an email, posting it to Twitter or Facebook, and more.

Add or change a password for a shared presentation

A presentation has only one password. If you already added a password to your presentation, that password applies when you share a link to the presentation.

If the presentation is already shared, you can still add a password. Collaborators lose access to the presentation until you notify them of the new password.

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar, then choose View Share Settings.

  2. Click Add Password, then enter the password in the Password field.

    If your presentation already has a password, you can keep the password, or click Change Password to change it. Enter the original password in the Old Password field, then enter the new password. The old password is replaced by the new one.

  3. Enter the password again in the Verify field.

  4. Enter a hint to remind you of the password if you forget it.

  5. Select the checkbox if you want to add the password to your keychain.

  6. Click Set Password.

    The password is applied.

  7. Click Close.

    You can send the link again if you wish, but it’s more secure to send the new password to collaborators in a separate communication.

Any further edits you make to the presentation after you share it are visible to the recipients of the link when they enter the new password.

Change permissions for a shared presentation

You can change whether a presentation can be edited or only viewed by others you share it with.

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar, then choose View Share Settings.

  2. Click the Permissions pop-up menu, then choose View Only or Allow Editing.

  3. Click Close.

Resend a presentation link

You can share a presentation link as many times as you wish.

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar, then choose View Share Settings.

  2. Click Send Link, then choose how you want to send it.

    For more options, click More at the bottom of the menu, then select the checkbox next to an extension to add it to the menu.

  3. Enter the requested information, then send or post the message.

    The full link appears in the body of the email, tweet, or post—be sure not to delete or modify the link.

Copy and paste a presentation link

You can quickly copy the link to your presentation and then share the link by pasting it in an email or a message, or posting it on a website.

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar, click Share Link via iCloud, then choose Copy Link.

  2. Click where you want the link to appear, then choose Edit > Paste (from the Edit menu at the top of your screen).

Turn off iCloud sharing for a presentation

  1. Click Share and edit a presentation with others in the toolbar, then choose View Share Settings.

  2. Click Stop Sharing.

The presentation retains its link, so if you turn sharing back on, the link becomes active again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »